Many of you have been asking for a little more support in using the site. Our volunteers will stop by this discussion and answer your questions.
Don't forget these other ways to get help using the site:
If you'd like to a more private way to submit your question, please email us at [email protected] and you'll receive an email response back from us.
I learned that delete/clear option is only available to me as the administrator. I will ask our web guy whether there's any other way to deal with this, but I doubt there is.
Most of our members never enter the chat room. Even when you see those names over in the "Members Online" box, that does not mean they have opened up the chat room - only that they've signed into Widowed Village and are somewhere on the site. While many feel quite comfortable holding honest and vulnerable conversations in the chat room, it's good to remember that the main chat room conversation is viewable by any member. They can be reading it in real time and not commenting. So deleting it shortly after posting does not entirely address your concern.
When I opened up the chat room earlier, I could only see posts from about the last 8 hours. I suspect the chat history content is not time-based but rather based upon a certain number of chat lines. I do know that some have entered several periods (type a period and then hit enter several times) to push a sensitive conversation off the history.
If I learn anything more, I will let you know.
Unfortunately, we don't have member passwords - but if you were able to post this question in here, then that means you've accessed your account. That will allow you to change your email and password by clicking on Settings that you'll see over in the left-hand column. That opens up the page that you filled out when you first joined Widowed Village. Just under your photo you'll see your email address and password. Click on the "change" link for each of those and make the necessary change. Then be sure to scroll all the way to the bottom of the page and click on the SAVE button to make those changes.
I see that you submitted a new membership application, Therese. Let me know if you're able to make the change to your original profile as instructed above and I can delete your new profile - or if you can't make those changes to your original profile, then I'll need to delete that one.